Monday, 05 October 2015
Illovo Sugar Ltd


DON MACLEOD retired as a director and chairman of Illovo Sugar Limited at the company’s Annual General Meeting on 15 July 2015. Don became part of the Illovo group in 1973 and in the ensuing 42 years was appointed to various management positions, including finance director in 1985, managing director in 1992, deputy chairman in 2009 and chairman in 2011. We wish him a well-deserved, healthy and happy retirement.

TREVOR MUNDAY was elected by the board of directors at the 2015 AGM to succeed Don MacLeod as chairman. He has served on the Illovo board as an independent non-executive director since March 2010 and is a member of all its board committees. He is currently also the chairman of Reunert Limited and lead independent director of Barclays Africa Group Limited and Absa Bank Limited.

GODFREY GOMWE has been appointed as an independent non-executive director of the company and as a member of its Social and Ethics Committee. He is a chartered accountant and holds a Master’s degree in Business Leadership. Prior to his retirement on 31 March 2014, he held the position of chief executive of Anglo American Thermal Coal. Prior to that appointment, he was an executive director of Anglo American South Africa and served on a number of Anglo American operating boards and executive committees.

JONATHAN COWPER has been appointed as a non-executive director of the company with effect from 10 March 2015. He is the financial director of British Sugar Plc, an associate company of Illovo’s majority shareholder Associated British Foods.

DR SURESH KANA (60) MCom, BCompt (Hons), CA(SA) (South African) has been appointed as an independent non-executive director with effect from 15 July 2015. As a member of the King Committee on Governance in South Africa, he was convenor of its Accounting and Auditing Task Force for King III, and from 1 July 2015 he joined the central committee responsible for drafting King IV. He is chairman of the South African Institute of Chartered Accountants (SAICA) and the Financial Reporting Standards Council (FRSC), member of the Integrated Reporting Committee of South Africa, trustee of the Constitutional Court Trust and has served on numerous other professional and statutory bodies. Dr Kana joined Coopers & Lybrand (later to become PwC) in 1976 and is currently the Territory Senior Partner of PwC Africa and a member of PwC's Global Strategy Council, until his retirement on 30 June 2015. He also served for four years on PwC's Global Board. He has been appointed a non-executive director of the JSE Limited and Murray & Roberts Holdings Limited with effect from 1 July 2015. Dr Kana is co-author, with Prof Geoff Everingham, of “Corporate Reporting”, a leading textbook in financial reporting.



There are no comments for this article.
Share your thoughts with us below.

Post a Comment

Display Name
(The name that appears with your comment)
Your Name
(Does not appear)
Email Address
(Does not appear)